Notable Alumni

Of its 275,000 members, Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity has produced many brothers who have had very successful careers. Below you will find just a few of our most prominent members from various industries. For a more complete list, consult our National’s list.

Arts & Entertainment

  • Kenny Chesney (East Tennessee State): Singer, 4 x Entertainer of the Year, 4 x Music Video of Year
  • W. Kent Cooper (Pennsylvania): Architect of record of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and the Korean Veterans Memorial, recipient of the AIA Henry Bacon Medal\
  • Will Forte (UCLA): Actor; SNL, 30 Rock,
  • Frank Reynolds (Wabash): ABC News anchor, recipient of Presidential Medal of Freedom and Peabody Award
  • John Tesh (North Carolina State): Composer/musician , 6 Emmys


  • Stephen A. Briganti (Butler): President/CEO of Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island Foundation
  • John Culver (Florida State): President of Starbucks Coffee China and Asia Pacific
  • Richard Graeter (Miami University): CEO of Graeter’s Ice Cream
  • William F. Rasmussen (DePauw): Founder of ESPN
  • Matthew Rose (Missouri): CEO of Burlington Northern Santa Fe
  • Brett Yormark (Indiana): President and CEO of New Jersey Nets Entertainment


  • Dr. Norman R. Auburn (Cincinnati): Former President of the University of Akron (20 years)
  • Dr. William C. Friday (North Carolina State): 1st President of the University of North Carolina system (30 years)
  • Dr. Ben A. “Todd” Parnell III (Drury): President of Drury
  • Dr. Michael J. Raymond (Miami University): Former Superintendent, Preble County (OH) Schools
  • Dr. William E. Troutt (Union-TN): College president since 1982, Chairman of the American Council on Education


  • Maxwell Cleland (Stetson): Secretary of the American Battle Monuments Commission, U.S. Senator, Administrator of the Veterans Administration
  • Earl W. Kintner (DePauw): Chairman of the Federal Trade Commission
  • Joe Dan Osceola (Georgetown): former President of the Seminole Tribe
  • Ronald Ernest “Ron” Paul (Gettysburg): Former U.S. Congressman from Texas (23 years)
  • Harry S. Truman (Missouri): Former President of the United States, former Vice President of the United States, U.S. Senator from Missouri


  • Harold A. Blackmun (Harvard): Former Justice of the United States Supreme Court
  • Alfred P. Murrah (Oklahoma City): Former Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit
  • Clifford W. Taylor (Michigan): Former Chief Justice of the Michigan Supreme Court
  • Benjamin C. Thornal (Florida): Former Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme Court
  • Gerald W. VandeWalle (North Dakota): Chief Justice of the North Dakota State Supreme Court


  • Maj. Gregory “Pappy” Boyington (Washington): Medal of Honor recipient
  • Gen. James H. Doolittle (California-Berkeley): Medal of Honor recipient
  • Gen. Montgomery Meigs (Colgate/West Point): Commanding General of the 7th Army
  • Maj. Gen. R. Martin Umbarger (Evansville): Adjutant General Indiana National Guard
  • Col. Terrence W. Wilcutt (Western Kentucky): Former astronaut


  • Ferguson Jenkins (Illinois State): Baseball Hall of Fame
  • Jim Mora Jr. (Washington): UCLA head football coach. Former professional football coach.
  • Bill Muncey (Rollins): 62 hydroplane victories, Motorsports Hall of Fame
  • Arthur Tyler (Worcester): Olympic Bronze Medal in Bobsledding
  • Ron Santo (Illinois State): Baseball Hall of Fame


  • Dr. J. Michael Bishop (Gettysburg): Immunologist, Nobel Prize, recipient of National Medal of Science
  • Dr. Leland John Haworth (Indiana): Director of the Atomic Energy Commission and National Science Foundation
  • Dr. David B. Melvin (Union-TN): Performed Cincinnati’s first heart transplant in 1985
  • Dr. B F. Skinner (Hamilton): Psychologist, recipient of National Medal of Science
  • James H. Williams (WPI): Developer of sulpha drugs and Aureomycin